>

My van died a few weeks ago. Car troubles have to be one of the most obnoxious things to me. If there is anything that challenges whether or not the fruits of the Spirit are present it is this life situation.

Thanks to facebook, a friend of mine hooked me up with a friend of his who was generous enough to come over and give me a diagnosis. He said it was the fuel pump and informed me that it would probably cost between $500-$600 to get fixed. I really don’t know if I want to spend that much money on a vehicle that could possibly break again in a few weeks. So we are stuck trying to figure out what to do and how to get some wheels that have six seats.

But the point of this blog is to talk about what I consider a practical ministry. I found out from one of our friends at church that they have a loaner van for people with car troubles. We called up and asked about it, and they gave us the key with no questions asked. This is a practical ministry.

Most churches are so wrapped up in the newest “Saddleback” program or how good their worship, daycare, coffee bar, or preaching is; that they forget about what really is important. How can we serve people in practical ways.

My question to you is, what are some other ways that we can serve people in practical ways? What things are you doing? What types of things is your church doing?

