Ahh memories.  I love this story.  It makes me laugh every time I think about it.

I grew up in one of the toughest neighborhoods that this small town has to offer.  If Idaho Falls had a “hood”, this street qualified.  I used to refer to it as the South Central LA of Idaho Falls.  Drugs, gangs, thefts, shootings, murders, you name it, it all happened in my little hood.

Since the majority of the neighborhood consisted of apartments, people were constantly moving in and out.  People would stay for a few months and then leave.  Soon after another family would move.  This situation made for a quite an interesting group of children that I would play with.

One day a family moved into the large stone building located just in front of our little dwelling place.  The family was not unlike mine, a mother and a child and that’s it.  single parent families were not all that uncommon in such a poor area as this.  The child was a girl just a few years older than me.  She was very nice, although it was obvious that she suffered from some sort of mental disability.  That didn’t bother me much and we became friends and played outside quite frequently.

A few months later, my mom and I were enjoying a nice Saturday afternoon watching WCW wrestling when we received a knock on the door.  It startled both of us since we did not get a lot of visitors and were not used to being bothered on a Saturday afternoon.  My mother opened the door to find one Idaho Fall’s finest standing on the other side.”Mrs. Edwards?” the officer asked.
“Yes, that’s me. What can I do for you Officer?” my mother responded warily as the doubts started to well up in her mind.
“Do you have a son by the name of Nathan?”
“Yes, he’s right here. Why do you want to know?”
“Do you know a Rhonda Helberton?”
“Yeah, she lives up in that house over there. What’s going on here?’ I could see my mom’s face turning more red as the seconds passed. Her blood pressure was rising and she wanted to know what this was all about.
“Well, Miss Helberton filed a police report that your son broke into her house and squirted glue all over her clothes.” He said calmly.
“WHAT! You have got to be kidding me! What did she say happened?” My mom said furious. I could see her getting ready to explode. I think she just wanted to shove the officer out of her way and storm directly over to this girl’s house and confront her, or better said, slap her for making such a crazy claim……to be continued…..

