I graduated from high school in the spring of 1992.  In the fall of that same year, I attended my first college.  Yes you read that right, I attended my FIRST college.  In the years following I have been to four different colleges five different times.  Here’s my list of all the colleges and majors that I have attempted over the years.

  • Northwest Nazarene College (1992-1993) Psychology
  • Montana State University (1993-1994) Media and Theater Arts
  • Boise State University (2000-2001) Communications with a minor in Theater
  • Boise State University (2002-2002) Business Administration
  • Vineyard Leadership Institute(2002-2004) Diploma in Christian Ministry…the only thing I have actually completed…thanks Chad!

As you can tell it has been a long road with nothing to show for it.  There have been many reasons for me not graduating from college yet, but the biggest one has been laziness, plain and simple.  I get going at it.  I do a good job.  And then I don’t want to do it anymore.

A few years ago, I decided to give it another shot, this time through online courses.  Since 2008, I have been attending Western Governors University, studying IT/Network Administration.  It hasn’t been easy, but I hope it will be worth it.  I have about a year left before I finally hold that piece of paper that has been so hard to come by for almost twenty years. 

For some the attainment of a degree, is not much bigger than achieving their high school diploma.  Let me tell ya, it will mean a lot more than  that to me.

And, my kids will finish college (if they decide to go) the first time, even if I have to drag them kicking and screaming across the finish line.

