I have been a fan of U2 since 1987 When I heard the song “Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”.  I actually had the chance to watch them shoot their video for that song in Las Vegas.  But, back then I really didn’t know who they were.  But as the years went by, they became one of my favorite bands ever.  I have never been remotely close to being able to see them in concert.  Most of the time, they have been hundreds of miles away.

In 2009 I heard that they were coming to Seattle for the U2360 tour.  And for one of the first times,  I had some money to invest in some tickets.  I bought the tickets in September of 2009 and was excited at the prospect of seeing U2 in concert at the Qwest field in Seattle with my beautiful bride.  We worked out staying at a buddies house, and  booked tickets.  We were stoked.

Then in March of 2010 the news came out that Bono, the lead singer, had seriously injured himself and was actually paralyzed for a while.  consequently they had to cancel the rest of the tour, including the one that we were planning on attending.  Unfortunately the plane tickets were non refundable so my wife and went to Seattle anyway and had a nice weekend my good friend.  It was depressing not being able to see the concert, but it was nice to spend some time with good friends.

Now I was in a predicament though.  The tickets were still good in Seattle.  But I was pretty convinced that I would not be able to make it back up there the next year.  I was really depressed and had come to the conclusion that I had missed my chance to see my favorite rock band.

Then I saw that they were going to be in Salt Lake; a mere 180 miles away.  I flipped!  I was ecstatic.  I sold the tickets for the Seattle performance and bought two tickets for the show in Salt Lake.

Now we are less that two weeks away and I can hardly contain my excitement.  I have been to a few big concerts, but none on this level.  Of course there are very few bands or musicians on the level of U2 when it comes to concerts.  it will be amazing and I can’t wait.  I will write more about it when it happens!!!

