Tags

, ,


MPAA Rating PG-13

Nate’s Rating between PG and PG-13 (kids cussing, minor drug use, adult themes like death)

 

First, I don’t get to review movies too much that are brand new since it is a costly experience for a family of six.  But, since it is my son’s birthday on Thursday and Father’s day on Sunday, I decided to use it as an excuse to go see a movie!

Now I am a child of the 80’s.  As such, I was raised on a heavy dose of Spielberg.  E.T., Raiders of the Lost Ark, Jurassic Park, and yes even his t.v. shows such as Amazing Stories, all filled my childhood with many fond memories.  There are very few movies that I can honestly say were fun to go to recently.  Movies have been good, but not fun.  Spielberg movies were always fun.  I have missed that.  So when I saw the vague previews for the new J.J. Abrams movie Super 8, and saw that it was produced by Steven Spielberg, I was excited that this might be a throwback to what made movies fun when I was a kid.  I was not disappointed.

I won’t give many details about the movie.  But I will set the scene just a tad.  Kids,  bad military guys, aliens, action, crashes, explosions, humor, storyline; this movie made sure to cover them all.  You may feel like your watching a Spielberg marathon all rolled into a 2 hour presentation, but I think that was intentional.

Bottom line, if you want to see fairly original movie that will far surpass all of the sequels and generic summer fair, this movie is the one to see.  Highly recommended.

4 out of 5 nateys.

 

 

