Tags

, , ,


The Croods
MPAA Rating: PG
Nate’s Good Sense Rating: G-PG (I have seen more violence in a Tom and Jerry cartoon)

Synopsis

A caveman family finds their world collapsing around them. They are forced to flee and find safety with the help of a homosapien.

Review

When Jeffery Katsenberg left Disney, he joined with Stephen Spielberg and David Geffen to create a new multimedia company called Dreamworks (SKG). Over the years Dreamworks has been the only company that has managed to give Pixar/Disney any serious competition. But, unlike Pixar, many of Dreamworks animated features have been hit and miss. The Croods, unfortunately is a miss.

Throughout the course of The Croods, I found myself wanting to care for this prehistoric family, but I just couldn’t. Maybe it was because they were cavemen? The movie tries to have a sweet side, but misses. I couldn’t care less about the fractured father/daughter relationship…until the end.

The ironic part for me was the father caveman played by Nicholas Cage. His character was shallow, not well developed and lacked emotion. Perhaps that’s why Cage was perfect for the role?

Oh and what was the deal with the cave-family’s youngest child? Was she their daughter or the family pet?

Over all the movie was okay. But, if I were you, I would wait for it to be on instant streaming or cable.

1.5 out of 5 nateys

ratings info
1=better used for trash liners
2=okay but not great
3=good and average fare
4=excellent and worthy of many awards and a trip to the theater
5=Simply Divine

