Another year. Another year that has slipped through my grasp.  The question remains, did I actually take the time to stop and smell the flowers?  Or, did I just let it slide by?  The older I get the more precious time becomes. So, I am going to take a few minutes and list five things that I can take away from this year.  Perhaps it will be a good reminder that I should be a bit more conscious of the moment next year.  Maybe next year I will count every breath as a blessing.

5. Trip to New England

Granted, this trip was for work.  But I had never been back east before, so I was really looking forward to the trip.  I was there for two weeks, but had very little time to explore.  What I was able to do, gave me a new appreciation for the oldest civilized parts of this country.  New England is beautiful.  It is really nothing more that one great big forest.  And, don’t listen to people that say Easterners are mean. They are some of the kindest and most genuine people I have ever met.

4. Marching Band Competitions

My son is a band geek, plain and simple.  He would admit to as much.  We went to many competitions this year because of his involvement in his high school marching band.  One day in particular, we did two competitions.  The first one was in Pocatello, ID and the second was in Logan, UT.  It was a long day, but a memorable one.  It is always a pleasure to see how much time and effort these kids put into something that they may only get to perform just a few times.

3. Church Camp

For the third year in a row, I was a leader at our churches youth summer camp.  Every year we have it in the beautiful Living Waters retreat center in Challis Idaho.  At least a 125 kids show up every year.  It is a lot of work, and very tiring. But, it is worth it.  I am always amazed at how the Holy Spirit moves among the teenagers. I see these young men and women and it gives me encouragement for the future of the church and how it is represented to the world.

2. California

My son also is involved in what they call drum-core.  They participated in a tournament in San Bernardino, CA this spring.  We decided to make a family vacation of it.  We went to Joshua Tree National Park on the way down, and also stopped at the famous dinosaurs made famous in PeeWee’s Big adventure.  After the tournament we decided to explore the L.A. area without going to the normal touristy areas (read Disneyland).  We went to Santa Monica Pier, Venice Beach, Hollywood, The Observatory, Ripley’s Believe it Or Not, La Brea Tar Pits, and the Getty Museum.  It was a lot of fun.

1. Family

The best and constant theme of the year, was spending time with my family.  I am blessed to have such good kids.  They are amazing and are a lot of fun to hang out with.  Whether it was going for walks, vacations, museums, playing board games, or watching movies; it makes my soul happy to have such a wonderful family.

 

So, these are five of the things that I consider highlights.  Do you have any? Was it a good year? Was it a year you would rather forget?  Tell me how it was, I want to know.

download (1)

Here’s to a 2016 that is memorable.

